San Jose Beer Events ’17

Simply visiting your local beer spot can be an event in and of itself. But sometimes there are extra special events – beer release parties, tap takeovers, beerwalks, beer fests, beer weeks, beer dinners, etc. – taking place throughout San Jose and nearby.

And I love the fact that we’ve reached the point where it’s very challenging to keep track of all the special beer-related events going on in the South Bay. That said, many of the San Jose beer events – as well as those nearby – are listed below. Please contact me if I’m missing any.

If you’re especially excited about an upcoming event, consider checking in with the venue beforehand to confirm that the event is a go.

Keep in mind that there are other local breweries and beer-centric establishments that host and feature ongoing events and specials, as well as a number of stores that sell good beer. (For a look back at the Beer Events ’16 list, click here.)

January 2017

  • Wed., Jan. 4, 6pm-8pm: “Cards Against Humanity Charity Night” at Santa Clara Valley Brewing. FB event page.
  • Thurs., Jan. 5, 6pm-11pm: “Crux Night Featuring Tough Love Barrel-Aged Stout” at Harry’s Hofbrau San Jose. FB event page.
  • Fri., Jan. 6, 5pm-9pm: “Big Wall Imperial Stout & Oysters!” at Strike Brewing Company. FB event page.
  • Tues., Jan. 10, 5pm-10pm: “Flight Night with Eight Bridges Brewing” at The Farmers Union. FB event page.
  • Thurs., Jan. 12, 6pm-11pm: “High Water Brewing Night” at Harry’s Hofbrau San Jose. FB event page.
  • Thurs., Jan. 12, 2pm: “Track 7 Brewing’s 5-Year Anniversary Party” at IBU Taproom & Bottle Shop. FB post.
  • Fri., Jan. 13: Golden State Brewery Opens San Diego Tap Room. My Writeup.
  • Wed., Jan. 18, 4pm: Hapa’s Brewing Company Open for Business. Hapa’s website.
  • Thurs., Jan. 19, 6pm-11pm: “The Bruery” at Harry’s Hofbrau San Jose. FB event page.
  • Thurs., Jan. 19, 8pm-12am: “Strictly Vinyl with Lagunitas High Westified Vertical Tasting” at Liquid Bread Gastropub. FB event page.
  • Fri., Jan. 20: Belgian Winter Wit Tapping at Golden State Brewery. FB post.
  • Tues., Jan. 24, 6pm: “Hops & Harvest Beer Dinner Featuring Goose Island” at Bourbon Pub. FB page.
  • Wed., Jan. 25, 5pm: “2nd Taco & Beer Pairing Event” at Steins Beer Garden & Restaurant. FB event page.
  • Wed., Jan. 25, 5pm: “Mother Earth Brewing Tap Takeover” at Park Station Hashery. FB post.
  • Thurs., Jan. 26, 6pm-11pm: “2016 Abyss Tapping and Takeover” at Harry’s Hofbrau San Jose. FB event page.

February 2017

  • Thurs., Feb. 2, 6pm-11pm: “Stone Night!” at Harry’s Hofbrau San Jose. FB event page.
  • Thurs., Feb. 2: Bullpen Series Release – Stand Up Triple IPA at Strike Brewing Company. FB post.
  • Thurs., Feb. 2, 4:20pm: “Run the Jewels Pre-game” at Good Karma Artisan Ales & Cafe. FB event page.
  • Feb., Feb. 2, 6pm: ISO Beers Celebrates 3rd Anniversary with Firestone Walker. FB post.
  • Sat., Feb. 4, 1pm-5pm: “Hopocalypse Day 2017” at Drake’s Brewing Co. FB event page.
  • Thurs., Feb. 9, 6pm: New Glory Brewing” at Harry’s Hofbrau San Jose. FB event page.
  • Fri., Feb. 10 – Sun., Feb. 19: 9th Annual San Francisco Beer Week. Event website. My writeup. Some select events below.
  • Sat., Feb. 11, 2pm-6pm: The Beerwalk in Downtown Sunnyvale. Eventbrite page.
  • Sat., Feb. 11, 11am-4pm: 17th Double IPA Festiva at The Bistro in Hayward.
  • Tues., Feb. 14, 12pm-11:30pm: “SFBW 2017 Pucker Up! Sour Fest 8.0” at Original Gravity Public House. FB event page.
  • Sat., Feb. 18, 1pm-5pm: 8th Annual Meet the Brewers Craft Beer Festival. FB event page.
  • Sat., Feb. 18, 11am-11pm: “SFBW DIPA and TIPA” at Harry’s Hofbrau San Jose. FB event page.
  • Fri., Feb. 24, 3pm – 12am: “Cheers to One Year…!” at Golden State Brewery. FB event page.
  • Sat., Feb. 25: 1pm-4pm & 7pm-10pm: Santa Clara Bacon and Beer Classic at Levi’s Stadium. FB event page.
  • Sat., Feb. 25, 1pm-5pm: Grand Opening Party at Hapa’s Brewing Company. FB event page.

March 2017

  • Wed., Mar. 8: Single Hop Series Release at Hermitage – Jester Single Hop IPA.
  • Thurs., Mar. 2, 6pm-11pm: Boneyard Night at Harry’s Hofbrau San Jose. FB event page.
  • Thurs., Mar. 9, 6pm-11pm: Faction Brewing at Harry’s Hofbrau San Jose. FB event page.
  • Thurs., Mar. 9, 6pm-11:30pm: Firestone Walker Milk & Cookies Night at Original Gravity Public House. FB event page.
  • Sat., Mar. 11, 2pm-8pm: “First Annual Hop ‘N Vine Festival & Market” at the Santa Clara County Fairgrounds. Event website.
  • Thurs., Mar. 16, 6pm: Fieldwork Night at Harry’s Hofbrau San Jose. FB event page.
  • Sat., Mar. 18, 12pm-9pm: 1-Year Anniversary Celebration at Taplands.
  • Tues., Mar. 21, 6pm-9:45pm: “So It Happens It’s The Bruery” at Original Gravity Public House. FB event page.
  • Thurs., Mar. 23, 6pm-11pm: Stone IPA Madness/Keep the Glass at Harry’s Hofbrau San Jose. FB event page.
  • Sat., Mar. 25, 11am-2pm: 4-Year Anniversary BBQ Party at Steins Beer Garden & Restaurant. FB event page.
  • Sun., Mar. 26, 2pm-4pm: San Jose Girls Pint Out at Freewheel Brewing. FB event page.
  • Wed., Mar. 29, 5pm-9pm: Cellarmaker Hump Day at South Winchester BBQ. FB event page.
  • Thurs., Mar. 30: New Bullpen Series #32 Release – “108” Unfiltered IPA. FB post.

April 2017

  • Sat., April 1, 12pm-11:45pm: Waldos’ Special Ale Release/Happiest Happy Hour Debut at Original Gravity Public House. FB event page.
  • Wed., April 5, 6pm-9pm: The Beerwalk in Downtown San Jose. Eventbrite page.
  • Thurs., April 6, 6pm-11:45pm: KBS & Friends at Original Gravity Public House. FB event page.
  • Fri., April 7, 6pm-9pm: Hops & Harvest Beer Dinner Featuring Anchor at Bourbon Pub. FB event page.
  • Sat., April 8, 11am-6pm: 20th IPA Festival at The Bistro in Hayward. FB event page.
  • Thurs., April 13, 9am: Total Wine & More in Mountain View Grand Opening. My writeup.
  • Thurs., April 13, 5pm-11pm: The Bruery Pint Night at Harry’s Hofbrau San Jose. FB event page.
  • Thurs., April 13, 5pm: Oskar Blues Brewery Tap Takeover at Market Beer Company.
  • Mon., April 17, 6:30pm: North Coast Brewing Co. Brewmaster Dinner at Stanley’s Sports Bar. Menu preview (.pdf).
  • Thurs., April 20, 4:20pm-8:30pm: Waldo 4/20 Pub Crawl with Lagunitas in Downtown Campbell. FB event page.
  • Sat., April 22, 1pm-5pm: Cider Summit SF at The Presidio. Website.
  • Sat., April 22: Reed Rye IPA Release at Santa Clara Valley Brewing
  • Wed., April 26, 5pm-8pm: Spring Fling Pairing Dinner Featuring Hitachino at Steins Beer Garden & Restaurant. FB event page.
  • Sat., April 29, 12pm-11:45pm: Revision Brewing Company Official South Bay Launch at Original Gravity Public House. FB event page.

May 2017

  • Thurs., May 4, 6pm-9pm: The Beerwalk in Downtown Campbell – May the Fourth Beer with You. Eventbrite page.
  • Fri., May 5: Motueka Single Hop IPA Release at Hermitage Brewing Company.
  • Sat., May 6: Bullpen Series – Stand Up Triple IPA Returns at Strike Brewing.
  • Sat., May 13, 2pm-8pm: Pints for Pups 2017 at the Santa Clara County Fairgrounds. FB event page.
  • Sat., May 13, 1pm-5pm: Livemore Craft Beer Festival 2017. FB event page.
  • Wed., May 17: Two Foeder Beer Releases at Hermitage Brewing Company.
  • Wed., May 17: Release of Winning Saison (Collaboration with Arne Johnson of Marin Brewing Company) at Strike Brewing Company – First Collaboration Series Release
  • Thurs., May 18, 5pm-9pm: Taylor Street Night + Market at Gordon Biersch Brewing & Bottling facility. FB event page.
  • Sat., May 20, 1pm-5pm: Drake’s 5th Annual Session Fest at Jack London Square, Oakland. FB event page.
  • Mon., May 22: Bullpen Series #33 on Tap at Strike Brewing Company – Weird Uncle Chuck Belgian Blond Ale with Kumquats, 7.1% ABV, 21 IBU.
  • Mon., May 22, 6:30pm: Brewmaster Dinner at Stanley’s Sports Bar Featuring Coronado Brewing.
  • Fri., May 26: Inaugural Run of Santa Clara Valley Brewing’s New Beer Engine Featuring Dairy Hill Milk Stout with Cocoa Nibs.
  • Sat., May 27, 11am-5pm: 6th Annual SJ Taco Festival of Innovation at History Park. Website.
  • Sat., May 27, 4:30pm: Quakes Beer Fest at Avaya Stadium. Website.
  • Sat., May 27 to Mon., May 29: Red, White and Brews at California’s Great America. Website.
  • Sun., May 28, 11am-5pm: Baconland Festival 2017: bites.bacon.beer at History Park. Website.

June 2017

  • Sat., June 3, 1pm-5pm: Sierra Nevada Beer Camp on Tour: San Francisco at Pier 48. Eventbrite page.
  • Sat., June 3: Firestone Walker Invitational Beer Fest. Website.
  • Sat., June 3 to Sun., June 4: Red, White and Brews at California’s Great America. Website.
  • Fri., June 9: Bullpen Series #34 on Tap at Strike Brewing Company – Texas Leaguer Dark Strong Belgian Ale.
  • Fri., June 9: Summer Saison at Santa Clara Valley Brewing – Limited Release Offering from Assistant Brewer Adam Nanni.
  • Thurs., June 8, 6pm-9pm: The Sakewalk in Japantown, San Jose. Eventbrite page.
  • Sun., June 11, 11am-10pm: Ludwig’s 1st Birthday Summer Market and Grill Fest.
  • Wed., June 21: Release of Hop Closet Double IPA (Collaboration with James Costa of Half Moon Bay Brewing) at Strike Brewing Company.
  • Sun., June 25: Bullpen Series Release at Strike Brewing Company: Poughkeepsie Punch NE Style IPA (Only one keg’s worth).
  • Fri., June 30: Release of Bullpen Series #35 at Strike Brewing Company: Night Train 26 Pale Ale.
  • Fri., June 30: Cherry Almonds Sour Release at Hermitage Brewing Company.

July 2017

  • Fri., July 7: One-Year Anniversary of GearTooth AleWerks Officially in Business after Kegging their First Beer – Conveyor IPA.
  • Fri., July 21, 4pm: The Ultimate Ballast Point Tap Takeover at San Pedro Square Market Bar and Market Beer Company.
  • Fri., July 21 – Fri., July 28: Silicon Valley Beer Week.
  • Sat., July 22, 12pm: 5-Year Anniversary Extravaganza at Original Gravity Public House. My Writeup.
  • Sat., July 22: Cannery Kolsch Release at Hapa’s Brewing Company.
  • Mon., July 24, 6pm: ‘Best of Summer’ Beer Dinner Featuring Santa Clara Valley Brewing. Evenbrite page.
  • Mon., July 24, 3pm: Collaboration Beer Release – Fountain Alley Pale Ale – with Original Gravity Public House at Santa Clara Valley Brewing.
  • Wed., July 26, 3pm: New Beer Release at Santa Clara Valley Brewing – Alum Rock Northeastern-Style Double IPA.
  • Fri., July 28: Collaboration Beer Release – Pop-Up Pilsner – with Social Kitchen & Brewery at Strike Brewing Company.

August 2017

  • Wed., Aug. 2, 6pm-9pm: $2 Brews & Blues at Poor House Bistro Featuring Hermitage Brewing Company.
  • Thurs., Aug. 3, 5:30pm-9pm: Strike Brewing Tap Takeover at Jack Rose Libation House in Los Gatos.
  • Sun., Aug. 6: Release of Beta Test #4 NE IPA at Santa Clara Valley Brewing.
  • Fri., Aug. 11: Release of Bullpen Series Harvest Ale at Strike Brewing Company.
  • Wed., Aug. 23, 11:30am-9:30pm: First Double IPA Release at Faultline Brewing Company.
  • Thurs., Aug. 31, 6pm-9pm: Benoit-Casper Brewing Tap Takeover at 20twenty cheese bar.
  • Thurs., Aug. 31: Collaboration Beer Release – Strong Arm English Strong Ale – with Magnolia Gastropub & Brewery at Strike Brewing Company.

September 2017

  • Sun., Sep. 10: 6-Year Anniversary Celebration at Wicked Chicken with Alvarado Street Tap Takeover.
  • Tues., Sep. 12, 6pm: Upland Brewing Downtown San Jose Launch at Original Gravity Public House. FB event page.
  • Wed., Sep. 13, 5pm-7pm: Festbier Tapping Party and Oktoberfest Event at Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant. FB event page.
  • Thurs., Sep. 21, 3pm-11pm: The Halford 1-Year Anniversary. FB event page.
  • Thur., Sep. 21: Release of Collaboration Beer – Bourbon Barrel Aged Brothers from Other Mothers Imperial Stout with Vanilla Bean and Caramel Added – at Taplands. Collaboration with Golden State Brewery.
  • Thurs., Sep. 28, 7pm-11pm: 3rd Annual Geektoberfest at The Tech Museum of Innovation. FB event page.
  • Fri., Sep. 29: New Beer Releases at Hermitage Brewing Company – Aye Yai-Yai Triple IPA and Flower Sour.
  • Sat., Sep. 30, 12pm: ‘Deconstructed Bomb’ (Four different Prairie Artisan Ales Bomb! stouts) at IBU Taproom & Bottle Shop.
  • Sat., Sep. 30 to Sun., Oct. 1, 11am-7pm: Mountain View Oktoberfest. Website.

October 2017

  • Sat., Oct. 7, 1pm-9pm: Warehouse Taproom 3rd Anniversary Celebration at Strike Brewing Company. FB event page.
  • Sat., Oct. 7, 12:30pm-3pm & 4:30pm-7pm: San Jose Taco Takeover at Avaya Stadium. Event website.
  • Sat., Oct. 7: The Cider Junction Bistro & Bottleshop Opens in Willow Glen. Grand opening celebration to follow later in October.
  • Thurs., Oct. 12, 6pm-11:45pm: Barebottle Salty Haze IPA Homebrewers Competition at Original Gravity Public House. FB event page.
  • Sat., Oct. 14, 1pm-5pm: 5th Annual Brew Crawl in Downtown Morgan Hill. Eventbrite page.
  • Sat., Oct. 14, 2pm-8pm: Downtown Fremont Oktoberfest. FB event page.
  • Wed., Oct. 18, 5pm: Bay Brew Takeover Featuring Camino Brewing, Benoit-Casper Brewing & Umunhum Brewing at Park Station Hashery.
  • Thurs., Oct. 19, 6pm-9pm: Santa Rosa Fundraiser with Seismic Brewing at 20twenty cheese bar. FB event page.
  • Thurs., Oct. 19, 6pm-11:45pm: New Bohemia Meet the Brewer at Original Gravity Public House. FB event page.
  • Sat., Oct. 21, 11am-4pm: Opening Celebration & North Bay Fire Relief Fundraiser at Cider Junction. FB event page.
  • Sat., Oct. 21, 2pm-6pm: Halloween Beer Crawl in Downtown Gilroy. FB event page.
  • Thurs., Oct. 26, 5pm: Lagunitas Brewing Tap Takeover at San Pedro Square Market Garage Bar. FB event page.
  • Thurs., Oct. 26, 6pm-11:45pm: Prairie Deconstructed Bomb! at Original Gravity Public House. FB event page.
  • Sat., Oct. 28, 2pm: The Beerwalk in Downtown Willow Glen. Eventbrite page.
  • Sat., Oct. 28: Latest Bullpen Release at Strike Brewing – Curse of the Bambino Brown Ale Mashed with Roasted Pumpkins and Conditioned on a Blend of Festive Spices (only one keg’s worth).
  • Sat., Oct. 28, 7pm-9pm: Annual Costume Contest at Original Gravity Public House. FB event page.

November 2017

  • Fri., Nov. 10, 6pm-8pm: Fall Harvest Dinner at Forager Featuring Hermitage Brewing Company. FB event page.
  • Sat., Nov. 11, 12pm-9pm: Clandestine Brewing is Back in Business (Soft Opening)
  • Wed., Nov. 15, 5pm-9pm: Downtown Campbell Sour Walk – Mini Beerwalk Series. Eventbrite page.

December 2017

  • Sat., Dec. 7, 11am-9pm: German Holiday Market – Weihnachtsmarkt in Downtown Mountain View. FB event page.